Thrown from Windows

As of April 8th 2014 Microsoft will no longer support Windows XP. I do understand, my copy of it has gigabytes of patches and there are now much more efficient ways to do the things that computers do. And you can’t be dragging around the less efficient programming  forever it really increases the computer’s vulnerability.

However, having thus said there are yet many issues to deal with. My computer is old, in computer terms, really old. A few years ago when I had some problem with my computer I couldn’t solve I took to it to a repair center. The man there said he had never actually seen a computer that was kerosene powered before and he seemed totally unable to operate my computer by entering the binary code with my telegraph key. He wound up bringing in his grandfather to repair the machine who then gave both me and my computer a round cursing. I said my computer was old.  There are literally millions of XP users around the world who, like me, are living at, near or below substance levels and upgrading our machines to take a newer OS is a real hardship. On the Microsoft site the advice that was so glibly given was we should spend a few hundred US Dollars and upgrade our machines or maybe for only a few hundred dollars more buy a new machine that has their latest operating system already installed. In the first place, a few hundred dollars is not so easy to come by for those of us who don’t work at one of the wealthiest companies the world. In the second place, buying a new machine that has the newest OS on it, that is known to be very glitchy (so different in fact that my critical program which would cost as much as the computer would have to be replaced completely) , to have a big learning curve and features a primary interface that is used by cell phone and tablet users only because it is more locally convenient for them than carrying around a keyboard and a mouse, and only costs two to five times as much as a program upgrade, is totally out of reason.

For comparison I challenge the people of Microsoft when they go to replace their current computers to go instead to mainframes and supercomputers. The cost difference will be only 2 to 5 times the price of your finest computer option. Yes there will be a slight learning curve while you learn the programing language but the machine will be much faster and efficient and much more secure .

As for me, I have little laptop a dear friend kindly gave me that currently runs the XP OS. I’m switching to Linux.

About nashvillewanderinround

I am a Christian, Writer, Singer, Songwriter, Poet, Musician, Actor, Philosopher, Artist, Husband, Brother, Father, Grandfather and a lifetime resident of Nashville, Tennessee.
This entry was posted in Information, Opinion, Rants, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

