If it all Stopped Tomorrow

Seeing that Microsoft is going to stop supporting Windows XP on April 8th has me thinking. And I’ve been remembering all the craziness around the Y2K event in 1999. Many people were panic-stricken. Some were claiming that the entire system of computers around the world would go out at the stroke of midnight on January 1, 2000. Survivalist stores opened around the US and did a huge business. As the time approached the alarmist voices grew louder and more hysterical and then new years and nothing. Life went on as usual and continues to do so.

But I thought then and still do today, what if all the computers and computer systems went out? What would the next day look like, or week, or month or year? I like to think I would be in the group that would be able to survive because I grew up most of my life without computers. But I am older and if things went back to the agricultural or hunter gatherer stage it would be very difficult. I think many would die out at first because they would simply refuse to live without their conveniences but I wonder…where would you fall?

About nashvillewanderinround

I am a Christian, Writer, Singer, Songwriter, Poet, Musician, Actor, Philosopher, Artist, Husband, Brother, Father, Grandfather and a lifetime resident of Nashville, Tennessee.
This entry was posted in musings, Opinion, Question, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

