The Fog of Memory

Memory is an amazing thing.  Each of us have memories we cling to, memories that establish our lives. We are all products of our pasts but those pasts in our memories are flawed by our individual perceptions. I might, for example, believe a certain year was wonderful because I had a particular experience that so far outweighed all other experiences and thus believe I had a good year. Comparison to the memories of others and news archives could prove me wildly mistaken. And so it is with many memories. One certain thing, a complement, a slight, if only in our own perception can color all future thoughts. I find that in my relationship to the Missus, I will often see insult when I find later that none was intended. I assume that works both ways. And so all of our thoughts and memories of any given situation can be flawed. We tend to see the past as highlights, forgetting all the things that came between them. Rather like looking at a line of power poles and forgetting the power lines that string them together. We /I, should try to see the long picture of events and not be taken back by events themselves.

 

About nashvillewanderinround

I am a Christian, Writer, Singer, Songwriter, Poet, Musician, Actor, Philosopher, Artist, Husband, Brother, Father, Grandfather and a lifetime resident of Nashville, Tennessee.
This entry was posted in Advice, Information, Inspiration, musings, Opinion, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

